Sisense User Roles

Last updated: September 1, 2026

Tier Deployment
Enterprise Cloud     On-Prem

Sisense licenses the following categories of roles:

Administrator

  • Admin:

    • Can access the Admin page of Sisense, where they can manage all system configuration, data sources, ElastiCubes, users, user groups and more. Sisense supports multiple administrators.
    • Can view and edit all notebooks (even if not explicitly shared with them) and query the database that is connected to the notebook.

    Note:

    Sys.Admin is a special type of administrator who installs Sisense on your system. There is only one Sys.Admin per account.


  • Data Admin:
    • Can manage all data sources in the system. They have access to the Admin page of Sisense, where they can only manage ElastiCubes and live connections. Data administrators can also add and manage servers. This is useful for migrating Sisense across environments. Data administrators do not have access to User Management and System Configuration.
    • Can view and edit all notebooks (even if not explicitly shared with them) and query the database that is connected to the notebook.

Designer

  • Data Designer:

    • Can create and edit ElastiCubes they created or were shared with them. Data designers can access the Admin page, where they can manage the ElastiCubes and live connections they have access to in the Data Sources page. In addition, data designers can see servers, but cannot add new servers. Data designers do not have access to User Management and System Configuration.
    • Have the most customizability of all users so far for notebooks access. They will have the ability to create their own notebooks and share them with others. They can only see notebooks they own or that have been shared with them. Data designers can be given edit access when someone else's notebooks have been shared with them
  • Designer:

    • Can create, design, edit and share dashboards. Sisense designers determine whether the user with whom they share a dashboard has editing rights (is a Designer) or only viewing rights (Viewer).
    • Are View Only users in notebooks. Someone else needs to share a notebook with them in order to view them in the Notebooks tab. They cannot edit or create notebooks at this time.

Viewer

  • Viewer:

    • Can view, explore, drill down, make selections and filter the dashboards that designers share with them. They cannot create new dashboards or edit existing ones.
    • Are View Only users in notebooks. Someone else needs to share a notebook with them in order to view them in the Notebooks tab.

      Note:

      This role can be customized through the Sisense REST API. For more information, see Using the REST API.

Viewer Plus

  • Viewer Plus:

    • Builds on the Viewer role, letting users compose their own dashboards using widgets created via the AI Assistant, or copied from another dashboard, without the full permissions of a Designer.
    • Cannot create new dashboards from scratch or share dashboards with other users, but can duplicate a dashboard shared with them to own a copy of it.
    • On dashboards they own (created by duplicating) or that are shared with them with Can Design permission, can move, duplicate, rename, and delete widgets; generate new widgets directly within the AI Assistant and add them to the dashboard; and edit specific widget aspects such as styling and formatting.
    • Consumes the same Viewer ('consumer') license as the Viewer role.

      Note:

      This role can be customized through the Sisense REST API. For more information, see Customizing User Roles.

Administrator Roles Designer Roles   Viewer Roles
Admin Data Admin Data Designer Designer Viewer Plus Viewer
System Management  
Access Admin Page  
Edit System Configuration
Configure SSO
User Management  
Create/Delete Users
Create/Delete Groups
Add Active Directory Users
ElastiCube Management  
Add/Delete Servers
View Servers
Add Live Connections
Create/Delete ElastiCubes
Edit ElastiCubes
Share ElastiCubes
Edit Servers
Create ElastiCube Sets
Delete ElastiCube Sets
Manage Hierarchies
Configure Data Access Rights
Stop/Restart Servers
Stop/Restart ElastiCubes
Set Up Data Security
Access Data Page
Dashboard Design  
Create/Edit/Delete Dashboards ✓†
Copy Dashboard to Another Server
Restore Dashboards
Change Color Palettes
Create/Edit/Delete Widgets ✓†
Rename Widgets ✓†
Duplicate Widgets ✓†
Change Widget Type ✓†
Drill into Widget
Reorder Widgets ✓†
Create/Delete Dashboard Filters
Toggle Dashboard Filters On/Off
Create/Delete Widget Filters
Toggle Widget Filters On/Off
Sharing  
Export Dashboards to PDF, Img, CSV
Share Dashboards ✓*
Migrate Dashboards ✓*
Notebooks  
View
Edit
Own
Delete* Only owners and Admins can delete notebooks
Pulse  
Access Pulse
Create Data Alert
Create Build Alert
Delete Alerts *
Edit Scripts
Infusion Apps  
Access Infusion Apps (external)
Access View Management

Create/Edit/Publish Views

Delete Views

Create/Edit/Delete Bookmarks
Create/Edit/Delete News Feeds
Write NLQ using Ask Me

*The user must be the owner of the dashboard, ElastiCube, or alert.

†Available only for dashboards or widgets that the Viewer Plus user owns (for example, a dashboard they duplicated), or that are shared with them with Can Design permission. A dashboard shared with the Viewer Plus user with Can View permission gives them standard Viewer behavior.